Village & Panchayats

The District is the basic unit of the administration. The Collector/Deputy Commissioner as the head of the administration. The Collector is the chief functionary of the State Government in the District and is the chief coordinating authority at the District level.

For administrative convenience, the District of Faridabad has been divided into following units :-

  • Sub – Divisions – 3
  • Blocks – 3
  • Gram Panchayats – 116
  • Villages – 144

The smallest unit of administration is the Gram Panchayat . It operates at the village level and is headed by a ‘Mukhiya’. The Panchayat looks after the management and the development of the villages.

A group of panchayats form a block. The administration of each block is handled by a ‘Samiti’ of Mukhiyas of the constituting Panchayats. This Samitti looks after primary health and education, animal husbandry and agricultural development of the villages. The government appoints one Block Development Officer (BDO) for each block.